Author(s): Reginald Smith Brindle

Music and Movement

This guide to the more adventurous evolutions of music since 1945--pointillism, post-Webernism, integral serialism, free dodecaphony, aleatory and indeterminate music, graphics, musique concrete, electronic music, and theatre music--was first published in 1975 and has been reprinted several times. For this second edition, Smith Brindle has added a new chapter reviewing developments over the decade since first publication. He discusses the decline of experimentalism and the reaction against increasing cerebralism and complexity as variously illustrated by the more recent works of Stockhausen, the minimalist works of Reich and Glass, and the partial return to romanticism. He also reviews the technological revolution which has taken place in computer music and concludes that the future of music will for the time being be most closely associated with technological change and development, rather than with radical changes in compositional techniques.

Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9780193154681
  • : Oxford University Press
  • : Oxford University Press
  • : 0.31
  • : August 1987
  • : 1.2 Centimeters X 14.5 Centimeters X 21 Centimeters
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Reginald Smith Brindle
  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 780/.904
  • : 224