Leningrad: Siege and Symphony

Author(s): Brian Moynahan


In Leningrad Symphony, Brian Moynahan sets the composition of Shostakovich's most famous work against the tragic canvas of the siege itself and the years of repression and terror that preceded it. Drawing on extensive primary research in archives as well as personal letters and diaries, he vividly tells the story of the cruelties heaped by the twin monsters of the 20th century, Stalin and Hitler, on a city of exquisite beauty, and of its no less remarkable survival. Weaving Shostakovich's own story and that of many others into the context of the maelstrom of Stalin's purges and the Nazis' brutal invasion of Russia, Leningrad Symphony is a magisterial and moving account of one of the most tragic periods of the twentieth century.

Product Information

Brian Moynahan's last biography was the bestselling Jungle Soldier. His other books include the award-winning Russian Century, Comrades, The British Century, Forgotten Soldiers and the much-praised William Tyndale: If God Spare My Life. As a foreign correspondent, he covered jungle fighting in Vietnam, Laos and Borneo, and was latterly the European Editor of the Sunday Times.

General Fields

  • : 9780857383013
  • : Quercus
  • : Quercus
  • : May 2013
  • : 234mm X 153mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : June 2013
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Brian Moynahan
  • : Paperback
  • : UK airports ed
  • : 940.5421721
  • : very good
  • : 496