Farmer Duck Nepali/English

Author(s): Martin Waddell; Helen Oxenbury (Illustrator)

Bilingual Books

A hardworking duck is rescued from life with a lazy farmer in this award-winning picture book classic from Owl Babies author, Martin Waddell, and Bear Hunt illustrator, Helen Oxenbury.In this Kate Greenaway Medal and Kurt Maschler Award-winning modern classic, two of the most celebrated picture book creators of our time tell the story of a hardworking duck, who has the very bad luck of living with a lazy farmer. The duck cooks and cleans, tends the fields and cares for the other animals on the farm - and all while the famer lies in bed! That is until the day the animals decide to take action ... and come to the rescue with a simple, but heroic plan.

Meet Farmer Duck, he isn't your average duck.


Whilst the lazy farmer lolls in his bed reading the newspaper and guzzling bonbons, the poor duck chops the wood, tends the hens, washes the dishes and harvests the apples. One day the overworked duck collapses in an exhausted heap and the farm animals decide something must be done. Together they agree on a plan to teach the lazy farmer a lesson once and for all…


Regularly appearing on 'must read' children's book lists, 'Farmer Duck' is a masterpiece of a picture book. This children's classic is a story about hard work and learning to share the load between friends. Set against the idyllic English countryside, Helen Oxenbury's expressive watercolour illustrations capture the loveable characters perfectly. The story's repetitive devices and simple plot line make this classic tale accessible to children of all ages. Readers who enjoyed 'The Buskers of Bremen' and 'Animal Farm' will instantly fall in love with Martin Waddle's delightful farmyard tale.


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9781846110696
  • : Walker Books, Limited
  • : Walker Books Ltd
  • : November 2006
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Martin Waddell; Helen Oxenbury (Illustrator)
  • : Paperback
  • : Nepali; English
  • : 823.914
  • : 34